Jury 2015 

Please, meet the Jury 2015! 


Michael Bates

Michael’s short film ‘The Projectionist’ premiered at the 40th New York Film Festival in 2002. It was awarded the Grand Prix at the 2003 Tampere Film Festival (Finland), and went on to win a further ten international awards at festivals in Valladolid (Spain), Los Angeles, Nashville, Melbourne and Sydney, and screen at over seventy film festivals and events worldwide - most recently at a special event at the Julliard School, New York City. In 2016 it will be part of a major film retrospective in Frankfurt, Germany.

Michael holds both a Masters degree in Film and Television, specialising in Directing, from AFTRS, and teaches screen acting and directing. He has presented programs of his work to audiences in Zagreb, Dresden, New York, Telluride, Szolnok (Hungary) and London.

In 2004 he was invited to be an International Judge at the 34th Tampere Film Festival, has been an active member of the pre-selection panel for the Sydney Film Festival, and in 2014 was a guest judge for the ATOM awards in Australia.

 Yann Chapotel

Chapotel Yann, born in 1972, studied cinema at the University Paris 8. In a parallel to his editor activity, he’s an independent film director making short films ranging from fiction to formal experimentation.

In 2014 Yann won the jury prize for the best short film at Kinodot IFF for his film An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris.

Zbigniew Czapla

Screenwriter, director, animator, painter and graphic artist. Graduated from the Graphic Arts Department of the Academy of Fine Arts in Cracow. Author of experimental animations. Won prizes at several festivals, such as: KLIK!, ANIMATOR, MESSAGE TO MAN, GOLDEN KUKER, ANN ARBOR and other.

Received scholarships from the Ellizabeth Greenshields Foundation (Canada), DAAD (Germany) and Ministry of Culture and National Heritage.

Olivier Dekegel

Olivier Dekegel lives and works in Brussels. After studying cinema at INSAS, he worked for several years as assistant, dramatist, light and sound designer for different modern dance and theatre companies. He has also been involved in other filmmaker’s works (Jonas Mekas, Eric Pauwels, Boris Lehman…). Since 2003, he has been working as curator for the Royal Belgian Film Archive. For the moment, he is free-lance curator, and is responsible of the Age d’or Film Festival since 2014.
Olivier Dekegel has been making films since the early ’90. All his films are made on Super 8 or 16mm, and always oscillate between documentary and experimental approach. His films have been shown in festivals and galleries around the world. Simultaneously to his filmmaking, he has been practicing photography for many years. A confidential work from which he hopes to come up with a book, some day…

Niclas Gillberg

Niclas Gillberg was born in 1980 in Uppsala, Sweden. He has studied Film Studies, Aesthetics and Art History at Uppsala University and Stockholm University. He has a degree in Film Curation at Göteborg University. Since 2001 he has worked with Uppsala International Short Film Festival and since 2004 he has been the Director of the festival. He is also a freelance writer, lecturer and curator.